Mono prints

During a printing workshop, I attended as part of unit 9 I chose to create work related to my final major project, I took part in a workshop by doing mono printing and then using a stamp of the word “journey” to in a way brand my pieces, I wanted to create some abstract looking more fluid pieces which is what I managed to achieve, the images below are the first and last ones I made during the time in the workshop and the contrasts is staggering, at I got used to the medium I learnt to use less colour and detail to create a more effective image never the less the like both these pictures for different reasons.

I wanted to convey the feeling of being lost through these images so I worked in lots of messy lines to build up layers of colour, in this image below I placed the stamp hidden within the tree which makes the image look mysterious, neither the character nor the text is easy to see.

IMG_20170516_103715_641

Tracy Emin uses mono prints to create expressive illustrations what reflect her mood, this picture of a bird is leaning as if it ready to fly off the image though static still show how the animal moves and acts I think this is a greater example of how art can capture a moment or feeling in a totally personal and yet universal language.

acff94c75075d8168154dd90fc49fca5

Leave a Reply

